Nigerian crude grade · Light sweet (new grade, 2026)

Cawthorne crude oil

Seller statement (no assay published), 7 April 2026 Cawthorne FSO, offshore Bonny
API gravity
36.4°1
Sulphur
Not stated by the seller
Barrels per tonne
7.47 derived2
Standard cargo
950,000 bbl1

Evidence basis: Secondary source Seller statement (no assay published), dated 7 April 2026. Crude quality varies from cargo to cargo; in any transaction the certificate of quality for the specific lifting governs, not a published assay.

Data limitation

No laboratory assay has been published. The seller describes the grade as comparable to Bonny Light but has not stated sulphur content.

Cawthorne: quality and origin

Cawthorne is Nigeria's newest export grade. NNPC announced on 7 April 2026 that the maiden 950,000-barrel cargo had loaded on 5 April for the Netherlands, describing the crude as light and sweet at 36.4° API and comparable to Bonny Light.1

Where it comes from

The grade evacuates production from OML 18 in Rivers State through a dedicated floating storage and offloading unit moored off Bonny.1 Like Nembe, it represents barrels that previously reached the market inside the Bonny Light blend and now have their own export route, reducing reliance on shared trunk pipelines.

Ramp-up

The regulator's provisional table shows the Cawthorne stream rising from 12.34 thousand b/d in January 2026 to 28.94 thousand b/d in May.3 At that rate a standard cargo accumulates roughly every five weeks (our arithmetic). In early August 2026 NNPC offered a Cawthorne cargo for 21–22 September loading by tender with a next-day bid deadline, according to Reuters — a useful illustration of how these barrels are actually sold.4

What is not yet public

NNPC's release does not state sulphur content, and no assay has been published. "Comparable to Bonny Light" is the seller's characterisation. Buyers should obtain the certificate of quality and a full assay directly from the seller before valuing the grade.

Loading, operator and output

Loading point
Cawthorne FSO, offshore Bonny — see the export terminal database
Operator
NNPC Ltd with its OML 18 partners1
Producing area
Onshore eastern Niger Delta, Rivers State (OML 18)
First export
April 2026
Status
Active and ramping up
Reported output
28.9 thousand b/d — CAWTHORNE stream, May 2026 (12.34 kb/d in January 2026).3 This is production by stream, not exports; part of some streams is delivered to Nigerian refineries.
Pricing basis
A differential to Dated Brent — see how Nigerian crude is priced
Volume conversion
7.47 barrels per tonne at this gravity (our derived figure) — the barrels-to-tonnes converter has Cawthorne as a preset
Checking an offer
A genuine Cawthorne cargo traces back to the operator and loading point above. See who can lawfully sell Nigerian crude and the verification centre before engaging any seller

Comparable grades

The Nigerian grades closest to Cawthorne by API gravity. The comparison tool puts any of them side by side.

Sources

  1. NNPC Ltd — NNPC Ltd launches Cawthorne crude onto global market, exports first cargo to Netherlands (published 7 April 2026; retrieved 18 September 2026) Company-reportedPress release; sulphur content not stated; no assay published.
  2. Nigeria Crude Oil Merchant — Derived calculation — see our methodology (retrieved 18 September 2026) IndustryOur own arithmetic on cited inputs; not an official figure.
  3. Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission — 2026 daily average crude oil and condensate production by terminal stream, January–May (provisional) (published June 2026; retrieved 18 September 2026) RegulatoryProduction by stream, not exports. Provisional.
  4. Reuters, via Investing.com — Nigeria's NNPC offers September crude cargoes (published 3 August 2026; retrieved 18 September 2026) Industry

Last reviewed 18 September 2026. Found an error? Tell us — see our methodology and corrections policy.