Nigerian crude oil grades
Nigeria exports more than thirty crude and condensate streams, not one. This database records the quality, loading point, operator and evidence basis of each — and shows the date and source of every figure, because published specifications for the same grade often disagree.
Grade database
Sort any column, or filter by name or quality class. "Basis" tells you how much weight a figure can bear: a company assay is a laboratory analysis published by a producer or equity holder; a typical value is a rounded quality used by a price-reporting agency or government table; a seller statement means no assay has been published at all.
| Class | Loading point | Basis and date | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bonny Light | 34.9 | 0.15 | 7.40 | Light sweet | Bonny Oil & Gas Terminal (offshore SBMs) | Company-reported TotalEnergies Trading, 18 June 20201 |
293.9 |
| Qua Iboe | 37.3 | 0.12 | 7.51 | Light sweet | Qua Iboe Terminal (QIT) | Company-reported ExxonMobil, 19 January 20242 |
173.4 |
| Forcados | 31.5 | 0.22 | 7.25 | Medium sweet | Forcados Terminal (offshore SPMs) | Company-reported TotalEnergies Trading, 1 March 20143 |
289.9 |
| Escravos | 34 | 0.15 | 7.36 | Light sweet | Escravos Terminal (offshore SBMs) | Industry Argus Media, August 20264 |
135.5 |
| Bonga | 27.7 | 0.26 | 7.08 | Medium sweet | Bonga FPSO | Company-reported ExxonMobil, 21 March 20255 |
102.5 |
| Agbami | 47.2 | 0.05 | 7.95 | Very light sweet / condensate | Agbami FPSO | Industry Argus Media, August 20264 |
69.2 |
| Brass River | 36.6 | 0.13 | 7.48 | Light sweet | Brass River Terminal | Company-reported TotalEnergies Trading, 1 May 20186 |
43.5 |
| Akpo | 46.7 | 0.07 | 7.93 | Condensate / very light sweet | Akpo FPSO | Company-reported TotalEnergies Trading, 22 October 20207 |
37.4 |
| Egina | 27.3 | 0.17 | 7.07 | Medium sweet | Egina FPSO | Company-reported TotalEnergies Trading, 4 October 20198 |
49.6 |
| Erha | 35.1 | 0.18 | 7.41 | Light sweet | Erha FPSO | Company-reported ExxonMobil, 20 May 20229 |
69.7 |
| Usan | 27.4 | 0.29 | 7.07 | Medium sweet, high-acid | Usan FPSO | Company-reported ExxonMobil, 21 February 202510 |
32.2 |
| Amenam Blend | 38.7 | 0.11 | 7.57 | Light sweet | Odudu terminal (FSO Unity) | Company-reported TotalEnergies Trading, 11 January 202111 |
63.3 |
| Nembe | 29 | n/p | 7.14 | Medium sweet (new grade, 2023) | Nembe Crude Oil Export Terminal (FSO) | Secondary source NNPC Ltd, 7 November 202312 |
41.7 |
| Utapate | 44 | 0.0655 | 7.81 | Light sweet (new grade, 2024) | Utapate offshore loading (FSO) | Secondary source Vanguard, 5 August 202413 |
59.2 |
| Cawthorne | 36.4 | n/p | 7.47 | Light sweet (new grade, 2026) | Cawthorne FSO, offshore Bonny | Secondary source NNPC Ltd, 7 April 202614 |
28.9 |
| Yoho | 41 | 0.06 | 7.68 | Light sweet | Yoho FSO | Company-reported ExxonMobil, 3 July 201915 |
— |
| EA Blend | 30.47 | 0.11 | 7.21 | Medium sweet | Sea Eagle FPSO | Industry Argus Media, August 20264 |
15.0 |
| Ebok | 17.9 | 0.44 | 6.65 | Heavy, high-acid | Ebok FSO | Company-reported ExxonMobil, 31 July 202016 |
7.2 |
| CJ Blend (Anyala–Madu) | 35.72 | 0.1 | 7.44 | Light sweet | Not verified | Industry Argus Media, August 20264 |
50.3 |
| Obodo | 27.65 | 0.05 | 7.08 | Medium sweet (new grade, 2025) | Not stated in any source we have opened | Secondary source Argus Media, 25 March 202517 |
0.0 |
| Okwuibome | 24 | 0.1 | 6.92 | Medium sweet | Tulja FSO | Industry U.S. Energy Information Administration, 18 November 202518 |
63.6 |
| Antan | 28 | 0.03 | 7.10 | Medium sweet | Antan terminal (FPSO) | Industry U.S. Energy Information Administration, 18 November 202518 |
6.9 |
| Okono | 42 | 0.06 | 7.72 | Light sweet | Okono FPSO | Industry U.S. Energy Information Administration, 18 November 202518 |
6.3 |
API gravity and sulphur as published by the source shown. Barrels per tonne is our derived figure from API gravity (see methodology). Output is the regulator's May 2026 production by stream in thousand barrels per day, not exports.19
n/p = not published in any source we have been able to open. We leave gaps empty rather than fill them with unsourced figures. Several smaller streams (Pennington, Okwori, Abo, Okoro, Otakikpo, Jones Creek, Ajapa) are producing according to the regulator but have no quality data we can cite, so they are listed in the terminal database only.
How to read Nigerian crude quality
Almost all Nigerian crude is sweet — sulphur is typically 0.05–0.3% by weight, against well over 1% for most Middle Eastern export grades. What separates the grades is gravity, acidity and yield:
- Light sweet grades (roughly 34–41° API) such as Bonny Light, Qua Iboe, Escravos, Brass River, Erha and Amenam are distillate-rich and leave little residue.
- Medium sweet grades (roughly 27–32° API) such as Forcados, Bonga, Egina and Nembe are valued for very high gasoil yields.
- Condensate-like streams above 44° API — Agbami, Akpo and Utapate — are naphtha- and kerosene-rich; the regulator counts Agbami and Akpo as condensate, outside the OPEC crude quota.20
- High-acid outliers exist: Usan (acid number 1.65) and Ebok (3.19) need suitable refinery metallurgy.1016
Why figures for the same grade differ
Most Nigerian grades are blends of many fields, so quality drifts as the field mix changes; assays are repeated only every few years; and widely copied tables contain transcription errors. We found, for example, Yoho's sulphur printed as 0.60% in two respected publications where the assay says 0.06%,1518 and Bonga still listed at about 29° API although the 2025 assay measures 27.7°.5 Each grade page shows the competing figures side by side.
New grades since 2023
Four new export grades have been introduced as producers built their own evacuation routes to avoid shared pipelines: Nembe (November 2023), Utapate (July 2024), Obodo (2025) and Cawthorne (April 2026).12211714 None has a published assay yet; their pages record exactly what the sellers have stated and nothing more.
Who buys which grade
Publicly reported tenders show Indian state refiners buying Agbami, Usan, Forcados, Bonga and Utapate, and Indonesia's Pertamina buying Forcados and Qua Iboe.222324 The documented purchases, country by country, are in which countries buy Nigerian crude oil.
Compare grades
Put up to four Nigerian grades side by side, with the evidence basis for every figure.
Open the comparison toolBarrels to tonnes
Convert volumes using each grade's own density rather than a world-average factor.
Open the converterHow grades are priced
Dated Brent, official selling prices and what a differential actually means.
Read the pricing guideSources
- TotalEnergies Trading — Bonny Light crude assay Company-reportedAssay date 18 June 2020. Company-reported; a blend whose quality moves with field mix.
- ExxonMobil — Qua Iboe assay (ref. QUAIB24Y) Company-reportedPublished with the company's no-warranty disclaimer.
- TotalEnergies Trading — Forcados crude assay Company-reportedAssay date 1 March 2014 — more than a decade old.
- Argus Media — Argus Crude methodology and specifications guide (West Africa typical qualities and cargo sizes) Industry'Typical' values used for price assessment, not a laboratory assay.
- ExxonMobil — Bonga assay (ref. BONGA25Y) Company-reported
- TotalEnergies Trading — Brass River crude assay Company-reported
- TotalEnergies Trading — Akpo Blend assay Company-reported
- TotalEnergies Trading — Egina crude assay Company-reported
- ExxonMobil — Erha assay (ref. ERHA22Y) Company-reported
- ExxonMobil — Usan assay (ref. USAN25Y) Company-reported
- TotalEnergies Trading — Amenam Blend assay Company-reported
- NNPC Ltd — NNPC/Aiteo joint venture launches Nembe crude oil grade Company-reportedPress release; no laboratory assay has been published.
- Vanguard — NNPC unveils new crude oil grade, Utapate, exports first cargo to Spain Secondary sourceRelays NNPC statements.
- NNPC Ltd — NNPC Ltd launches Cawthorne crude onto global market, exports first cargo to Netherlands Company-reportedPress release; sulphur content not stated; no assay published.
- ExxonMobil — Yoho assay (ref. YOHO19Y) Company-reported
- ExxonMobil — Ebok assay (ref. EBOK20X) Company-reported
- Argus Media — Nigeria expands crude supply with medium sweet Obodo Industry
- U.S. Energy Information Administration — Country Analysis Brief: Nigeria GovernmentExport volumes are EIA and Global Trade Tracker estimates for calendar 2024. Grade table draws on Argus, Reuters and OIES.
- Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission — 2026 daily average crude oil and condensate production by terminal stream, January–May (provisional) RegulatoryProduction by stream, not exports. Provisional.
- Oxford Institute for Energy Studies — Nigerian Barrels and the Demand Shock Industry
- African Energy Council — NNPC Ltd launches new crude oil exports to Spain Secondary source
- Reuters, via Leadership — India expands crude purchase from Nigeria Secondary sourcePublication date approximate.
- Reuters, via OilPrice.com — India's HPCL snaps up Nigerian crude Secondary source
- Kpler — West African crude prices recover on Asian demand IndustryThe page carries no publication date.
Last reviewed 18 September 2026. Found an error? Tell us — see our methodology and corrections policy.